Wait, what just happened?


I am a pretty simple guy. I go to work, dispense pearls of wisdom on my kids, procrastinate important tasks, and fall asleep watching Adult Swim just like everybody else. Yesterday, something jolted my relatively mundane lifestyle. So I wrote this book, Fabric of Man. I can’t really explained why. It just happened. Put the book on Amazon a year ago and the world yawned. Last August, at the advice of some close friends, I changed things around, some on-line marketing, new book cover, and promoted it a bit. I even sent out some query letters. You know, all the things that real authors do.

To my amazement, people noticed the book. Fabric has been in the top 100 of techno thrillers since August 2012. It bounces around in the 10,000 to 15,000 range of all books sold on Amazon. Not too bad for a nobody author. Then, yesterday happened. I was actually writing a piece on retail sales growth in China (that’s what people pay me to do) and apparently Amazon’s sales tracking software fell apart. Fabric sold more on January 15th, than the last ten days combined. It jumped into the top 10 of all techno-thrillers, nestled in between B.V. Larson and Jack Silkstone. Hold on, those guys are real authors. I’m just a guy. Remarkably, Fabric hit the top 2,000 of all books sold on Amazon. Huh? I have no idea why this happened. I can’t even get an agent to take the time to send me a pithy rejection email.

So, while I wait for Amazon to send me an apology email explaining that someone else’s sales results were inadvertently posted to my account, I will enjoy my time in the sun.

11 thoughts on “Wait, what just happened?

    • Patrick:

      Thanks for the note, I appreciate it. When I get questions like yours, it gets me motivated to keep writing.

      I am about 60% done with the first draft and then it has to got to editing. I really like the way it is shaping up.

      Look for mid summer.

      PW

  1. Really looking forward to your sequel. Including Dan Brown and Michael Crichton, two of my favorite authors ever, was very clever. It’s how I stumbled across your book. Hope the feedback helps.

    • Hi Adam,

      The feedback is great. Crichton and Brown are two of my favorites as well. Crichton is the father of techno-thrillers. I can’t wait to read Brown’s new book. However, when I am writing, I don’t read anything. I go in the bunker as it were. I don’t want it to influence where I am going in any way. On the humor side, some of my all time favorites are Terry Pratchett along with Douglas Adams.

      Thanks for the note.
      PW

  2. Hello! I just finished reading your book.. Loved it! I don’t really care that there were some technical oops’es… It all sounded plausable.. Loved how you had several old families wanting the shroud, and the jumping back to the past was not jerky at all, they came in the right times for the story line. I find it hard to believe you couldn’t find an agent, they MUST all be out of their minds.. For someone’s first book, you have surely hit it out of the ball park! Good luck on the sequels, I’m looking forward for them when they come out. I’ve always have been a big fan of of techno thrillers, so welcome to the group of them. You really have a standout here.. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

