Point of Man – Update


Geez, sorry I have not posted for quite some time. My mild-mannered alter ego, who is the director of a specialty research shop focused on China (an excellent secret identity), has been monopolizing an inordinate amount of my time. However, this is critical function as it provides income for all of life’s finer things, like a house and food. My good friend Bank of America appreciates my writing efforts but still strongly advises me to keep my day job. They cheerfully send me monthly encouragements requesting money.

Now that being said, Point of Man’s rough draft is about 50% complete. I am very happy with how it is progressing. I do need to stop killing people off though. Pope Bastion has the child. Gabe has had a terrible loss. Mize is out of jail and mucking things up. Dolan is doing, well, what Dolan does best, sending people to the next stage of existence. I have advised Dolan that there are decaffeinated coffee brands he should look into. I do know that there will now be a third book as well, unless I want this one to be about 1,000 pages, which I don’t. Already have the title – Cross of Man – and the plot line.

Thanks to everyone who has taken the time to embark on this journey with me. I truly appreciate it.

Cheers,

PW

7 thoughts on “Point of Man – Update

  1. Hi I’m reading the Fabric of Man right now, and while I like it, I’m having a hard time with the molecular biology inaccuracies which I think would have been easy to get right. For example, C A T G are not proteins, they’re nucleic acids. Chromosomes don’t reside in DNA, DNA is packaged into Chromosomes. At some point I think you speak of purines and pyrimidines as proteins, but they are chemical side chains of the nucleic acids. So while I really like the story I wish the molecular descriptions were cleaner; the story would be easier to follow. That said, it’s fun to read about the local dives in St Louis — I’ve been to both Ciceros and Tom’s Bar and Grille.
    Thanks for the yarn!

    • Hi Dianne,

      I knew this day would come, I have dodged it for quite some time. Sorry about any technical short falls. You are clearly an expert in the field and I am just a guy. I don’t know if I am smart enough to understand your job title. That being said, I will make revisions next edit round (the joy of ebook publishing).

      I love Cicero’s, spent many hours at Tom’s, Kemoll’s are friends of my family. Blueberry Hill and the Zoo got edited out.

      Are you sure you aren’t Julie Peterson?

      Thanks for the note,
      PW Abbenhaus

    • MJO,

      Thanks for taking the time to write me a note. Nothing brightens my day like getting one of these. It has been slow going of late. I am kinda in an ACT 2 bind. It will pass.

      To quote the great 20th century philosopher, Scotty, from Star Trek;
      “I’ve giv’n her all she’s got captain, an’ I canna give her no more.”

      Cheers,
      PWA

  2. Hi PWA.
    Just wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed your story. I had read a few of the ‘lets remake Jesus’ stories before but I find your is very refreshing with just the right amount of irreverence to make it fun. Too many of the others make the ‘second coming’ with trumpets, magical events, and some kind of divine intervention which is very much lost on a more factually bound atheist like myself.
    Definately loking forward to Point of Man.. And hmm a Specialty research Shop in China – Oh the possibilities :) :)
    Take care…
    Marcwolf

    • Marc,

      Thanks for the kind words and the great review on Amazon. For a new author who hasn’t cracked the code of the mainstream publishing world, it really means a lot.

      I wrote Fabric (and the subsequent books as well) to have people think about what they believe. I choose the Shroud to start with because of the obvious need for the samples, but more so as it a piece of history as well. It has survived mankind for a documented 800 years. Over that time, mankind really hasn’t changed all that much. Sure, technology is light years beyond, but the headlines from today aren’t much different than I imagine they would have been back then. Territorial disputes, trading-based economics, wars, class inequity…

      Just so you know, there will be no magical, heavenly plot devices. This series will always be driven by what people believe and their actions based their beliefs. Point of Man is taking that to a whole new level by including a certain group that has a billion followers and can be extraordinarily radical.

      Cheers,
      PW

Leave a Reply

